Guinness Six Nations Rugby Championship

Mobile Wins Sports | Events | Six Nations

It’s almost the best time of the year again for everyone that loves rugby: the 2024 Six Nations Championship! It’s the 21st edition of this Guinness sponsored event and the 126th edition if you count all previous iterations. This year England, Ireland, Italy, Scotland, France and Wales are competing for the prestigious tournament.

Last year’s edition was a blast with a surprising winner, Wales. Can they defend their title this year? Let’s take a look at the Six Nations League 2024 fixtures and predictions!

The History of the Six Nations League

As for so many major sports events, the first edition of the tournament was held in the UK. In 1883 it was called the Home Nations Championship and was held between England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales.

Some twenty years later, in 1910, France joined and the tournament was now called the five nations championship. In 2000 Italy joined the group to make it the tournament as we know it today.

Maybe (hopefully) will see further expansion of this tournament as countries like Georgia and Romania have proven to fit in this shortlist of European Rugby giants.

Anticipating Super Saturday

The six nations tournament builds up towards the Super Saturday. The culmination of the tournament is on the second or third Saturday in March.

Not only because of the winner will be decided, but also because the wooden spoon award (team with the lowest points) and to see if a team will be whitewashed (what happens if you lose all matches). We hope for the Italians that they won’t continue their tradition of ‘winning’ both.

The tournament starts in the beginning of February and lasts until Super Saturday. Let’s look at the teams this year!

Six Nations 2024 Predictions

What a year 2019 was. A year England will want to forget asap by winning the Six Nations League. They are probably the most motivated squad going into this tournament after losing the World Cup to South Africa.

There is more than enough young talent in the group, it’s up to Eddie Jones to extract the potential to its fullest. If he manages, this team will be hard to beat.

Ireland is transforming their team after a disappointing campaign last year. Many older players will leave the group and many youngsters will join. The new coach Andy Farell will try to forge an all star team for the World Cup 2023 in France, but we predict this year’s Six Nations League will come a bit too soon. The fact that Farell is a new coach and he will likely to lose Conor Murray, Rob Kearney and Cian Healy in the following years aint helping.

Wales is in good shape. Warren Gatland has left a legacy that his replacement, Wayne Pivac, can definitely work with. But it can also be shoes too big to fill. Though the results of Pivac with Scarlets give reason to be optimistic. The foundation of experience and youth is there, Wales is definitely a candidate to win it all.

Scottish fans must look with envy to the rest of the island. Their team is in bad shape, to say the least. It has been like this for some time and things aren’t particularly looking up for the northerners.

The gap has grown to such an extent that it is unlikely that the tide will be turned in 2024. Gregor Townsend deserves some credit for getting the maximum out of his team, but the quality just isn’t there.

Hopefully a new generation will rise to the occasion. Meanwhile, Scotland has to try keeping Italy behind them rather than looking to win anything.

Why believe what we have to say? Perhaps it’s better to count on collective knowledge? We did a poll on Social Media and here is what ‘you’ thought take home the trophy:

  • 1: England
  • 2: Wales
  • 3: France
  • 4: Ireland
  • 5: Schotland
  • 6: Italy


  • What is the Six Nations Rugby Championship?

    The Six Nations Rugby Championship is an annual international rugby union competition involving six European teams: England, France, Ireland, Italy, Scotland, and Wales.

  • When did the first Six Nations Rugby Championship take place?

    The inaugural championship was held in 1883, initially involving only England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales.

  • Who holds the record for the most Six Nations Rugby titles?

    England and Wales share the record for the most titles, with each team winning the championship multiple times.

  • What does the Grand Slam achievement mean in Six Nations Rugby?

    The Grand Slam occurs when a team wins all their matches in a single championship, earning them the ultimate title.

  • What is a famous rivalry match in the Six Nations Rugby Championship?

    The annual Calcutta Cup match between England and Scotland is one of the oldest and fiercest rivalries in rugby history.

Mobile Wins Casino & Sports | 24/7 Support

Other Questions?



Left Menu Icon